Updated pitch

For my story pitch I want to do something like the “My First New York” stories we read at the beginning of the semester but make it Ole Miss related by gathering stories from students and faculty about their first experiences at Ole Miss. Going to school here I have always heard such unique stories from people about how they chose to go to school here or about the first time they came to Ole Miss and realized they wanted to go here. Everyone has a story about how they got here and I would love to share them.

I think going video based would be the best option for this project.I would like to really crowd source and find people with unique stories. I will do this through social media. Hopefully people will share my request posts calling for unique stories and I can find my sources through them.

I want to do video format. I want it to be fun and upbeat. I want the people who are featured to be very conversational when sharing their stories. Anything that is rehearsed or seeming staged will not be used. It will be 3 minutes long.

I plan to share my idea on social media to gather subjects. Then once I have them I will plan a time to meet and film them. I will film them in places on campus or somewhere they spend a lot of time at on campus or in town. After I collect my film I will edit and put together the video and add my multimedia elements.

I would like to interview people from all over who go to school here so adding a story map that showed where the subjects are from with their picture and a quote would compliment the video well. I could also add a poll to make the story more interactive for readers asking them something about their first time at Ole Miss.

Leave a Reply

